Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Charge move rules question

 Post subject: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:38 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Jaén, Spain
Hello folks.

Suppose we are talking about normal units (no war machines).

When performing a charge move, is it possible to have one charging unit getting in base-to-base contact with TWO enemy units?

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:18 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6323
Location: Leicester UK
yes this is possible

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

[http://adam77.github.io/snapfire/war/]Army Forge[/url] List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:17 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8733
Location: Worcester, MA
You'd have to enter their ZoCs at exactly the same time, as once you do so you're compelled to move directly towards the unit which is ZoCing you. In practice, this can be hard to accomplish, what with how units are arranged and where a unit is allowed to move.

Infiltrators, however, ignore ZoC so can do it with no problem at all. Just place them in base contact with two units and you're done.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Jaén, Spain
Oh, thanks for the reply.

Let's walk another step: is it legal to move your unit (no infiltrators) in a non-straight way just to contact two units, as long as it finishes its move in contact with the first unit? (even if the second unit is more far).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:14 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8733
Location: Worcester, MA
Are you talking about pivoting the unit as it moves towards the closest enemy unit whose ZoC it is in? I would say no, as that pivoting counts as movement, and if you're not using that movement to move towards the enemy above then you're not adhering to the rules.

Generally, I would say that contacting two enemy units when you don't have infiltrator is a rare thing. Locally, we just say you can't do it just to keep the game moving.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2474
Location: UK
Interesting, I see people do this A LOT at UK tournaments.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5467
Location: London, UK
Technically, a unit must stop moving when it arrives in B-to-B with an enemy unit. It is not permitted to move around that enemy to contact a second enemy. So, as Dave says, to conact two enemy units simultaneously, a unit must enter both ZoCs simultaneously which is both fiddly and time consuming.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2019 8:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:52 pm
Posts: 21
I think it is not entirely clear that this works exactly like that with the current wording. Perhaps it should specify that you must go to the enemy unit by the shortest route. Where can i find that?

I found:
1.12.3: "A charging unit that enters a zone of control must
move into base contact with the nearest enemy whose zone of
control has been entered."


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2019 11:16 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 5679
Location: UK
Ginger wrote:
Technically, a unit must stop moving when it arrives in B-to-B with an enemy unit. It is not permitted to move around that enemy to contact a second enemy. So, as Dave says, to conact two enemy units simultaneously, a unit must enter both ZoCs simultaneously which is both fiddly and time consuming.


All that is needed is for the charing unit to be ?exactly? between two target units in a line-ish and moving directly forward i think? Assuming you have a bit of room for turning within your charge range, there would be an angle at which this works and we can assume the exact middle would be somewhere along the charge line if there was enough move. You might say that on the table no two units are exactly lined up such that you enter ZoC simultaneously, but given a context where stands of little metal men slide down the faces of polystyrene hills rather than standing millimeter accurate, i don't find the below that unlikely within a small tolerance?

Gaunts charge jetbikes entering 2 ZOC simultaneously and entering BtB simultaneously – not exactly, but probably to the nearest mm that i can see?
Image
Think youd either need to say that in the real world no 2 stands would ever be so perfectly lined up that this could happen (so might as well just say it's impossible to hit 2 at once), or just accept a big of wiggle room. CC is at enough of a disadvantage over firefight already?

_________________
AFK with real life, still checking PMs


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1236
Location: Devon, UK
Given that premeasuring is a thing in EA, you're always going to be able to find the point where the trooper can move into both ZoCs at the same time.

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net