Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

Clarification of Knight shield rules.

 Post subject: Clarification of Knight shield rules.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:44 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:30 am
Posts: 481
Location: (Sydney) NSW
I can not be bothered trying to make a major search of the files to locate a topic where this is discussed. I tried to find one, but 5 minutes is long enough for a search, as far as I am concerned, so I know others will have the relevant knowledge somewhere.

Those who own or often face off against Knights and their knight shields. I am considering using knights, or Titans either as an army, or as part of the 1/3 allies part of an army I am building for a tournament. Titans I am more than knowledgeable about. The Knight shield I am a little fuzzy on. I have faced off against different people who use them, and had different interpretations of the rule amongst from those opponents. The specific knight shield rule is below:

Knight Shield:
Units with a Knight Shield may make a saving throw on a 4+ when
they are hit instead of using their armour value. No modifiers ever apply to this saving
throw and it is unaffected by macro-weapon, lance and titan killer hits. However, each
point of damage from a titan killer hit must be saved separately. If the unit has
reinforced armour as well then it is allowed to re-roll a failed save using its armour
value unless the hit was a macro-weapon, lance or titan killer. Finally, none of these
benefits apply to units in a crossfire or to hits from supporting fire.


Now here is the main thing that I am not sure of. If I face enemy support fire (FF in an engagement after the main attack - either CC or FF has been made), or if receive attacks from any or all attacks during the shooting phase (which involves crossfire) - Do I lose the 4+ shield save?

Can I still take my normal 5+ reinforced armour save (which Lance and MW will stop me from taking the re-roll, and TK will ignore)? And yes I also understand the crossfire will reduce my armour save rolls by 1 as well.

I am under the belief that the 4+ unmodifiable save is cancelled out completely by attacks from supporting fire, and any shooting that involves crossfire (even if the formation/units involved in the crossfire can not actually cause any damage to the knight).

Is this correct?

_________________
6mm wargaming is just like 25mm wargaming with more units fitting on the same size table. Thus bigger games to get lost in and avoid the hassles of everyday living, and offerings for the dice gods.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification of Knight shield rules.
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 3:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 5:06 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Your interpretation is correct. If you're in a crossfire or being targeted by supporting fire just pretend like the knight shield rule doesn't exist for the duration.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net