Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration

 Post subject: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:21 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Hi,
I have two questions, they came up last evening in a battle against Necrons:

1) How is teleport handled? Who puts a teleporting formation first? Does one side put all the teleporting formations and then the other? Or do you switch? If you are placing infantry into terrain, do you have to roll for dangerous terrain?

2) Necrons get a free unit for regeneration. Is this unit placed before rally? So could you regenerate a Necron lord and use the leader ability?


Thanks,
Castorp


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5402
Location: London, UK
1) Where both sides have teleporting formations, the player with the highest strategy rating gets to decide who will teleport first (dice if they are equal). Then each player places a formation alternatively until one or other player passes or runs out of formations leaving the other player free to teleport his remaining formations.

If units arrive in Dangerous terrain, they take a DT test as well as the teleport test.

2) Necrons get a single unit back (with the Necrons ability) for free per formation at the end of the turn, and others if they pass the test to rally, but I am not sure about regenerating a Lord and then using him to reduce BMs. However it does sound plausible (although a little underhand :) )


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: London, UK
"If you are placing infantry into terrain, do you have to roll for dangerous terrain?"

Only if the infantry considers that terrain to be dangerous, basically marshes and rivers - http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/tourna ... in-effects

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:08 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 353
Location: London
1) I agree with Ginger - although I'm not sure about the dangerous terrain test bit - I didn't think that was necessary but haven't looked it up, ok you must be right

2) The reanimate happens at the end of the turn but before rallying. (You don't get more units back for rallying - that's only possible through a regroup action). You could in theory reanimate a lord for the leader bonus. There's no rule to say you can't.

I was surprised to learn the other week that epic uk have FAQ'd teleporting WE roll one dice per unit whereas NetEA have FAQ'd it as one roll per DC. We played it the epicUK way.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:29 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:21 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Thank you!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:14 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:00 pm
Posts: 866
Location: Toronto
Castorp wrote:
If you are placing infantry into terrain, do you have to roll for dangerous terrain?


You'd only take the test if they move not when they regenerate. So yes only marsh and rivers unless you're refering to destroyers.

_________________
Necron AC (click to see current Necron list threads)
Toronto Wargaming Group


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2334
Location: UK
Order of abilities:
http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#a ... urn-action
http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#t ... tegy-phase

Quote:
2.1.17 Teleport
...
If placed in dangerous terrain then a dangerous terrain test must be taken when the unit is placed on the table.


Now Necron reanimating units into dangerous terrain... now that is not covered with rules and FAQs. Is atension's reply a definitive answer to be FAQ'd, or should it work like teleport?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:01 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 353
Location: London
bit of a rare situation - is there a precedent with summoned units?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:31 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:00 pm
Posts: 866
Location: Toronto
Curious, would the moving cautiously rule apply to difficult terrain tests made by teleporters?

I'll add the situation to the necron FAQ.

_________________
Necron AC (click to see current Necron list threads)
Toronto Wargaming Group


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1940
Location: South Yorkshire
Castorp wrote:
2) Necrons get a free unit for regeneration. Is this unit placed before rally? So could you regenerate a Necron lord and use the leader ability?


You can only regenerate units that have already been destroyed, so if the Lord had been killed you could regenerate that unit.
Cannot see anything that would stop you from using the Leader ability.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:55 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1940
Location: South Yorkshire
Castorp wrote:
1) How is teleport handled? Who puts a teleporting formation first? Does one side put all the teleporting formations and then the other? Or do you switch? If you are placing infantry into terrain, do you have to roll for dangerous terrain?

From the rulebook,
Quote:
SPECIAL RULE
1.4.2 Abilities Used At Start Of Turn/Action
Some units have special abilities that are specified as taking effect at the beginning of the turn. These effects are resolved before the Strategy roll. Similarly, abilities that are used at the start of an action can be taken before the Initiative roll is made or the action chosen. If both players have effects for the beginning of the turn, take turns resolving them, alternating between players for each subsequent effect until all effects are resolved. The player with the higher strategy rating decides which player will go first.


regarding terrain, relevant part of the rule
Quote:
2.1.17 Teleport
If placed in dangerous terrain then a dangerous terrain test must be taken when the unit is placed on the table.


So only if the terrain is normally dangerous to the unit would you take a test. The only terrain listed in the rulebook that is dangerous to infantry is, as stated earlier, Marshes (dangerous to AV's and WE's too) and Rivers (Impassable to AV's so no teleporting into rivers for them and has no effect on WE's).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:38 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am
Posts: 349
Location: Birchip, Australia
had this happen to me tonight. wouldnt have effected the outcome of the game. but to be able to get their SC back seams like a kick in the balls.

_________________
I have 4 laptops in this room and cannot play a pixel pushing tabletop simulator on any of them.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions: Teleport & Regeneration
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:15 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:00 pm
Posts: 866
Location: Toronto
Norto wrote:
had this happen to me tonight. wouldnt have effected the outcome of the game. but to be able to get their SC back seams like a kick in the balls.


haha, yeah I understand how it is annoying. But yes if the Supreme commander is a character (not a C'tan), it adds its stats to that of whatever unit in the formation that the Necron player decides like any character. In the case of the UK list and the Sautekh list if the Supreme Commander is added to an INF stand with the "Necron" ability (eg a warrior) then it has the "Necron" ability and can be regenerated.

_________________
Necron AC (click to see current Necron list threads)
Toronto Wargaming Group


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net