Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Charge move rules question

 Post subject: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:38 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Jaén, Spain
Hello folks.

Suppose we are talking about normal units (no war machines).

When performing a charge move, is it possible to have one charging unit getting in base-to-base contact with TWO enemy units?

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:18 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6138
Location: Leicester UK
yes this is possible

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:17 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8462
Location: Worcester, MA
You'd have to enter their ZoCs at exactly the same time, as once you do so you're compelled to move directly towards the unit which is ZoCing you. In practice, this can be hard to accomplish, what with how units are arranged and where a unit is allowed to move.

Infiltrators, however, ignore ZoC so can do it with no problem at all. Just place them in base contact with two units and you're done.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15 | Raven Guard 2018-04-23


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:28 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Jaén, Spain
Oh, thanks for the reply.

Let's walk another step: is it legal to move your unit (no infiltrators) in a non-straight way just to contact two units, as long as it finishes its move in contact with the first unit? (even if the second unit is more far).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:14 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8462
Location: Worcester, MA
Are you talking about pivoting the unit as it moves towards the closest enemy unit whose ZoC it is in? I would say no, as that pivoting counts as movement, and if you're not using that movement to move towards the enemy above then you're not adhering to the rules.

Generally, I would say that contacting two enemy units when you don't have infiltrator is a rare thing. Locally, we just say you can't do it just to keep the game moving.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15 | Raven Guard 2018-04-23


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: UK
Interesting, I see people do this A LOT at UK tournaments.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charge move rules question
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5452
Location: London, UK
Technically, a unit must stop moving when it arrives in B-to-B with an enemy unit. It is not permitted to move around that enemy to contact a second enemy. So, as Dave says, to conact two enemy units simultaneously, a unit must enter both ZoCs simultaneously which is both fiddly and time consuming.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net