Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Tau FAQ

 Post subject: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:44 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:58 pm
Posts: 598
1. Guided missiles - suppression and crossfire

Guided missiles follow all the normal suppression rules. So if a unit with a guided missile weapon is in range and has LOF to a unit in the target formation then it is counted for suppression purposes. It is counted even if it cannot fire because for instance - the target is not marked, or an aircraft (note: unless landed, aircraft never count as marked).

Additionally guided missiles count as having LOF to all units in a marked formation for the purpose of suppression, crossfire and when shooting as part of an overwatch action.


2. Coordinated fire

There are no requirements with regards which action from sustain, advance or double a formation takes.

If an action with a movement component is chosen there are no specific movement restrictions. You may move as normal in any allowed direction or manner. You don't have to move towards the coordinated fire target or even make any attempt to get any weapons in range if you don't want to.

The only requirement is that if you choose to shoot it must be at the formation picked as the target of the coordinated fire.

The target of the coordinated fire being destroyed or moving to a position where it cannot be shot has no impact on any movement component of the action chosen. It just means that you will not be able to shoot.


3. MARKER LIGHTS

A quick clarification on when marker lights apply. The do apply when one formation is shooting on another any formation. They do not apply to fire fight values.

The rules for marker lights specifically identify that the bonus is added to "shooting" and provide a bonus to "firepower." In the case of fire fight, the formation is taking an engagement action, not a shooting action. Additionally, firepower is a specific stat line for a unit, separate and apart from the fire fight value. The firepower stat is used for the shooting attacks, while fire fight is used in engagements.

_________________
Epic UK - Improving and Enhancing Epic Gaming in the UK
[url]http://epic-uk.co.uk/wp[/url]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:58 pm
Posts: 598
Added a Tau FAQ covering some common questions. If anyone has any other questions they would like to see answered or feel the language or answer in the FAQ is either confusing or just wrong let me know by starting another thread in the Tau forum. I will lock this thread to keep it relatively easy to use.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:00 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 2:48 am
Posts: 815
Location: NJ, USA
Added an FAQ on marker lights to clarify when they do and when they don't apply.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

_________________
Grey Knights AC: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=33750

Tau AC:
viewforum.php?

The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:10 am
Posts: 38
Is there any reason two formations on overwatch( say 4 hammerheads and 3 Skyrays) can’t fire at the same enemy formation as it moves into markerlight range?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2442
Location: UK
Cyguns wrote:
Is there any reason two formations on overwatch( say 4 hammerheads and 3 Skyrays) can’t fire at the same enemy formation as it moves into markerlight range?

no reason

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:10 am
Posts: 38
If a Manta carrying Crisis units is on an advance , double or March order, and the Crisis suits disembark at the end of such an order, are they allowed the 10cm Tau Jerpack move? If they would shoot with the Manta on a double order , they’d suffer the -1 penalty just the same? So do the order of the Manta then also allow the Jetpack burst ?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:02 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6302
Location: Leicester UK
Cyguns wrote:
If a Manta carrying Crisis units is on an advance , double or March order, and the Crisis suits disembark at the end of such an order, are they allowed the 10cm Tau Jerpack move? If they would shoot with the Manta on a double order , they’d suffer the -1 penalty just the same? So do the order of the Manta then also allow the Jetpack burst ?


I would say no, the jetpack rule applies to the formation with jetpacks taking the action, and in the example above, it is the Manta that takes the action, units that disembark from war engines may not take a separate action but may shoot with the war engine, so I would say in this case it would not be permitted, I could of course be wrong and it may have been discussed

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2442
Location: UK
This one sounds like the same debate as the 'Farsight re-roll in a vampire'. That is, do you treat a farseer inside a vampire as a combined formation, or not.

Likewise it's similar to "what's the break point of a vampire full of aspects?" 2, or 10? Can broken non-fearless infantry inside a fearless war engine be destroyed by blast markers from shooting?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:41 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:15 am
Posts: 330
I have always used the Tau Jet Pack move at the end of such advance or double moves (never actually marched a Manta, never felt I could waste the firepower). And also incidentally after a double move when the formation breaks or fails to rally.

It is different to the Farsight rule since that applies to the activation roll of the Vampire. Or the commanders re-roll for an infantry unit inside an off-board separate formation warengine/transport. Once the Manta has activated the transport and transported are considered part of the same formation until the activation is completely over. The units/stands with Tau Jet Pack can use their extra 10 cm move at the end of those activations. The rule itself explicitly allows the jet pack move in mixed formations but only to those specific units with the specialist ability.
The jet pack rule does not get actioned when the Manta is activating, but is specific to a unit (considered part of the formation) at the end of those activations.

Conversely I consider that the Crisis Suits can't jet pack back into the Manta if it arrived on table using Planetfall because it did not activate as one of the allowed activation types. Also you can't fly on Crisis Suits in an Orca land shoot up and use a jet pack jump move to get back into a Manta (or the Orca is you have courage or are at the end of the turn) because the combined formation did not activate on the required activation type.

From a wider game-play balance stand point this operating mode for Crisis Suits has been the only vaguely consistently effective use I have managed with a small Crisis Cadre formation (several 10s of games). Aside from a couple of outings with an army with almost all Crisis Suits and Stealth Suits. The Manta has also tended to under perform, although the recent price drop and split of the main rail guns is definitely an improvement. Additionally the practice locks up a considerable number of points into one activation, in a game, and an army, that rewards larger numbers of activations. To get anything useful out of the practice you also need to be up close and personal - the Crisis Suit Fusion guns only becoming useful at 15 cm.

So having a small "buff" for the two under performing units seems OK to me.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:09 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2442
Location: UK
What I was referring to is that the rules actually only say that they're treated as a single formation when resolving shooting attacks and assaults by allowing them to shoot with the WE. Up until that point in the rules there is no mention of them being considered a single formation as soon as they mount up. It's ambiguous. (Which is why it is similar to the farseer situation - i.e. its a question of whether the farseer is considered to be part of the vampire's formation by virtue of being mounted inside it. Can the farseer/crisis use their special abilities that require them to have taken an action, when it is the WE that is taking the action). In fact, the rules say that the transported formation does not get an action:
"While being transported the units may not shoot or carry out any other actions except to rally"
"Formations that dismount in this way may not take an action in the turn they dismount"
So they cannot marshal for instance - if the WE marshalled or held, I probably wouldn't allow the BMs to be removed from the crisis.

However I think personally I would allow the jet pack move, because of this:
"For example, a war engine could take a double action and disembark any troops it was carrying at the end of its move. The war engine and the disembarked units could then shoot together at a target formation, but all shooting would suffer the -1 modifier for shooting while taking a double action."
"The war engine and the formation that disembarked are treated as being separate formations once the war engine has completely resolved its action."
Sounds to me like you'd count the crisis as having taken a double action and this lasts until the action is completely resolved.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tau FAQ
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 10:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:10 am
Posts: 38
Yeah, that was my line of thinking as well. Thanks! Should this perhaps be officially looked at tho, and maybe added to the rules text for clarification, given that it holds up.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net