Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

[Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown

 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:38 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5272
Location: Bristol
It look good to me. At first it seemed a bit overly wordy, but if Expendable and Tunneller become new generic special rules then the remaining amount is fine.

I say some playtests should be got in before pre-judging the list too much.

Question - if a tyranid BTS formation absorbs a smaller formation and then gets shot up with all the original formation's units dying but some absorbed ones surviving, does the enemy then get BTS or not?

Second question - can you only swarm units that have already died or can you bring spare termagants, ect over and above what you have in the list to spawn during the game? I believe up until now the former was the case, but the current rules are written in such a way that the latter seems to be possible.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Dave, just a bit of query...
Is it possible to remove the "brood" wording/idea and just give swarming to infantry? That way you would only need to mention in the data sheets of say the genestealers/Warriors etc "may not swarm. It would make the issue slightly less wordy. Of course it doesn't deal with the fact you have limited what brood units' brood points are but is that adjustable any other way?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Merging formations seems never worth doing, because your formations are likely going to be rallying from broken on a 1+ anyway, so why lose that?

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:46 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4793
Location: North Yorkshire
Evil and Chaos wrote:
Merging formations seems never worth doing, because your formations are likely going to be rallying from broken on a 1+ anyway, so why lose that?

Agreed, if they are not going to disappear, why lose an activation. (Unless you need the numbers for a big engagment or stringing out.)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
You also lose the entire formation for VP purposes. Worth doing in maybe 5% of games.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
well, a synapseless swarm is 3+, and no longer ignores the -2 for broken, which means that its very unlikely to rally

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
A 5+ to rally is a fairly average rally roll, really.
IG and Orks have to roll those kinds of numbers all the time.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:06 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
well, its likely to be 6+ cause nids are fairly 'in your face' with their movements (while ig can sit back and shoot)

and in any case, 5+ is a marked difference to the 1+ you where talking about mere moments ago.

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20849
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
It's still not worth losing a potential activation 95% of the time. Just back the unit off when it breaks (easy, as 'nids mostly move 20cm), and roll to rally on a 5+.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:15 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
its never worth it if the unit being absorbed is BTS
however, if the unit doing the absorbsion is the BTS though, it will be useful to keep it alive

i see it being potentially useful in certain situations, especially since a synapseless nid formation, even once rallied, is pretty rubbish.

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:15 am
Posts: 1832
Location: Oslo, Norway
I don't think the rules should be written so that they are "less wordy". Having the Brood keyword allows very clear rules for what gets to reswarm and what doesn't. Taking the "how hard is it to explain to the opponent test", you may cut down some words, but you gain nothing when explaining it.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:36 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5568
I can see some situations where absorbing would be worthwhile, but probably not enough to justify its inclusion.

What if a synapse formation absorbs a broken formation? What happens then?

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:40 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8705
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
RAW the formation would inherit the broken formations Blastmarkers = 1 BM per unit. As the absorbing formationis the leading formation and has fewer BMs than units it would remain unbroken. The absobing formation's status won't change.

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:45 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5568
Broken formations don't actually have blast markers though, and I don't like the ability to autorally units by absorbing them.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Tyranid Special Rules] Breakdown
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:47 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4793
Location: North Yorkshire
BlackLegion wrote:
RAW the formation would inherit the broken formations Blastmarkers = 1 BM per unit. As the absorbing formationis the leading formation and has fewer BMs than units it would remain unbroken. The absobing formation's status won't change.

So you are saying that you think rallying should be carried out first followed by absorbing. Rule does not make this clear at the moment, but that is also the way I'd interpretate it.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net