Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Questions re flyers and buildings...

 Post subject: Questions re flyers and buildings...
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:47 pm
Posts: 390
Location: Kent
These were subject to major debate during my last game and I promised I consult the Oracle before our next game, which is tomorrow!

1. Can flyers capture objectives? If they can, do they have to land to do so?

2. Is there a distinction in the rules (for the purposes of Line of Sight and cover) between being in a building, and being on the roof of a building?

3. Does a unit outside a building have LoS to an enemy unit inside (or on the roof of) a building, if that unit is not positioned next to the edge of the building that faces the unit outside?

4. Do flyers have Line of Sight to enemy units on/inside buildings if the target unit is not next to the edge that faces the flyer?

Thanks in advance!

_________________
My blog: Jodrell Plays Games
Follow J_Plays_Games on Twitter!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions re flyers and buildings...
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 26743
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Jodrell wrote:
These were subject to major debate during my last game and I promised I consult the Oracle before our next game, which is tomorrow!

1. Can flyers capture objectives? If they can, do they have to land to do so?

2. Is there a distinction in the rules (for the purposes of Line of Sight and cover) between being in a building, and being on the roof of a building?

3. Does a unit outside a building have LoS to an enemy unit inside (or on the roof of) a building, if that unit is not positioned next to the edge of the building that faces the unit outside?

4. Do flyers have Line of Sight to enemy units on/inside buildings if the target unit is not next to the edge that faces the flyer?

Thanks in advance!


Hi!

1. No. I would have thought it said that somewhere.

2. Since the original building for the game models could only be placed on the "roof" it was deemed they were actually in the building. You would apply all appropriate modifiers for being in a building.

IF you have an actual terrain piece with actual "floors" distinct from a "roof", then its up to you to define what it means to be on the "roof". I personally would just apply building modifiers and call it a day.

3. This one is bound to produce some arguments. I think originally you could only trace LOS to elements on the same side the firing elements were. I personally don't knit pick that much, but that is just me. ;)

4. Same as 3.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions re flyers and buildings...
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:47 pm
Posts: 390
Location: Kent
Thanks Pete!

_________________
My blog: Jodrell Plays Games
Follow J_Plays_Games on Twitter!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions re flyers and buildings...
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 12:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 26743
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Jodrell wrote:
Thanks Pete!


Hi!

No problem, have fun in your game! :)

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions re flyers and buildings...
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 3:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 1432
The main thing I'll add to that is that even if a Flyer ends its movement above a building, it would not be considered to be "on the roof" as buildings are impassible terrain for most Flyers (all except for Infantry based Flyers). Thus it would not receive any cover from counting as being in a building.

Personally, I'd say yes to 3 and 4, as that is how 2nd did it and that is what I'm accustomed to. That said, I cannot find any mention of that in the Core Rules, so that is something best discussed with your opponent before the battle.

_________________
Net Epic Coordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions re flyers and buildings...
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 26743
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
MagnusIlluminus wrote:
The main thing I'll add to that is that even if a Flyer ends its movement above a building, it would not be considered to be "on the roof" as buildings are impassible terrain for most Flyers (all except for Infantry based Flyers). Thus it would not receive any cover from counting as being in a building.

Personally, I'd say yes to 3 and 4, as that is how 2nd did it and that is what I'm accustomed to. That said, I cannot find any mention of that in the Core Rules, so that is something best discussed with your opponent before the battle.


Hi!

I think that was intentionally left out to promote what you suggest.

Players should agree upon this prior to game.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net