Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Rules questions

 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:27 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
Thanks for the reply! Usefull info as always!

Thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
Another question:

1. If charging an artillery detachment (basilisk) with barragepoint weapon but no minimum attack range are they allowed to shoot? The rules only states that template with no range such as flamers are allowed to shoot.
If they are allowed to shoot how is it resolved if the charging models start outside of vision. Can they shoot 1 model? Place the template indirectly at where the charging models start? Seems awful confusing how to resolve it if it is indeed allowed.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 1467
As you mentioned, the rules state "Template weapons with no range, like Flamethrowers, may be used as well to fire at a charging unit." It does not say "no minimum range", just "no range". Thus any template weapon with a Range value (other than Template) cannot.

This is why it is always a good tactic to keep at least one detachment of troops (Tactical at least, Assault preferred) back next to the artillery to screen them from such attackers. Artillery are intentionally vulnerable to Close Combat attacks, and thus BP based weapons should not be able to fire at such attackers.

_________________
Net Epic Coordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
Perfect, also what we thought. Just not specified so wanted to make sure.

Thanks again


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:11 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27030
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Hi!

Thanks for fielding these Magnus! :)

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
Another question. From the rulebook (page 46):

Quote:
"1) Scatter the shot. Pick a location and roll the scatter dice. A shot
that deviates to a blank or already destroyed location, or a location covered by
an obstacle is considered a miss.

2) Make an Armour Save. Modify the location’s Armour Save by the
weapon’s TSM as normal. If the save fails the shot has penetrated the Armour.
If a location has been destroyed or blown off, the shot will hit the hull (if that
wouldn’t make sense, choose another logical location) with an additional -1
TSM."


So which is it....if a location is destroyed and I hit it again does it miss (as stated in 1) or does it hit the hull (as stated in 2)....Or does it mean that if a shot is scatter to a destroyed location the hit is a miss and if I target a destroyed location and the hit does not miss then the titan is hit in the hull and has to save with -1TSM?

Its kinda confusing IMO.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27030
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Ronnie_Nielsen wrote:
Another question. From the rulebook (page 46):

Quote:
"1) Scatter the shot. Pick a location and roll the scatter dice. A shot
that deviates to a blank or already destroyed location, or a location covered by
an obstacle is considered a miss.

2) Make an Armour Save. Modify the location’s Armour Save by the
weapon’s TSM as normal. If the save fails the shot has penetrated the Armour.
If a location has been destroyed or blown off, the shot will hit the hull (if that
wouldn’t make sense, choose another logical location) with an additional -1
TSM."


So which is it....if a location is destroyed and I hit it again does it miss (as stated in 1) or does it hit the hull (as stated in 2)....Or does it mean that if a shot is scatter to a destroyed location the hit is a miss and if I target a destroyed location and the hit does not miss then the titan is hit in the hull and has to save with -1TSM?

Its kinda confusing IMO.


Hi!

Agreed, which is why I don't like the templates much anymore.

The "traditional" interpretation is that it would count as a miss, since the destroyed location just "absorbs" the hit.

Some though that unfair and preferred such hits gets transferred to the hull or equivalent.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 3:00 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 1467
Then it needs to be reworded. I suggest:

Quote:
1) Scatter the shot. Pick a location and roll the scatter dice. A shot that deviates to a blank or already destroyed location, or a location covered by an obstacle is considered a miss.

2) Make an Armour Save. Modify the location’s Armour Save by the weapon’s TSM as normal. If the save fails the shot has penetrated the Armor.

OPTIONAL RULE
Those who desire more "realism" in this regard may instead transfer a hit to a destroyed or blown off location to the next logical hit location that would be in the line of the shot. For example, if a shot would hit the right-side Carapace Weapon location on a Warlord Titan from the side, then the next logical location to be hit would be either the Carapace itself (if the shot was from above), the left-side Carapace Weapon location (if the shot was horizontal), or would miss the Titan entirely (if from lower than the level of the weapon), depending on the angle of the shot. This will have to be figured out on a case by case basis.

_________________
Net Epic Coordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27030
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Hi!

That looks good Magnus. :)

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
The cleanup males it clearer How to deal with destroyed lokations. So would be fine with me.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:31 pm
Posts: 922
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
The revision looks good to me. Destroyed or blown off locations always counted as a miss in SM2, and I feel that it's simplest to stick with this as the core rule. Thanks Magnus, you're a master of re-writing rules for clarity :).

_________________
Soñando con una playa donde brilla el sol, un arco iris ilumina el cielo, y el mar espejea iridescentemente.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
Yet another question.

We played another game this weekend with 5 players and again had a lot of fun. But the rules on rerolls are not 100% clear so clarification would help.

Are you allowed to reroll a dice more than once under any circumstance. What came up is the squat rules on rerolling any 1 on CC for all infantry. If a squat rolls 2d6 and one of the dice is a 1 he is allowed to reroll this dice. Is he then allowed to use an elite reroll after having rerolled the dice with 1. If he is allowed to reroll using the elite reroll, is he then allowed to reroll a 1 on the second reroll.

What we had come up was:

1. Squat rolls 2d6 for CC. One dice is a 1 and is rerolled
2. Squat still looses CC and so chooses to use an elite reroll
3. The elite reroll still looses CC, but there is a 1 on one of the dice
4. The squat rerolls the dice with the 1 -now he wins. But it "took" 3 rerolls to win the combat.

That is an awful lot of rerolls and I started wondering how much rerolling is allowed (using multiple elite rerolls could also happen).

In the squat book I can find a section saying:

Quote:
Each stand may only reroll dice once per turn.


So if a stand rolls 2d6 and one of the dice is a 1, the squat can either reroll that one dice (free) or use an elite reroll to reroll both dice. No matter what the result of the reroll there is no further rerolls on the dice after the first reroll.

Secondary question is one the elite reroll. If a company card has a single stand with elite, can the elite reroll be used to reroll the morale of the entire company then (e.g. warrior brotherhood)? The elite rules states that:

Quote:
In addition, each Elite detachment in your army gives you a
re-roll counter. This counter may be used once per game on any die roll
that any Elite unit makes


So unit is a single stand but I assume that the elite reroll is not usable to reroll morale for the entire company card as it is written?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27030
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Hi!

Your right, that is confusing! ;)

I'd say that for a stand that is not elite one re-roll per game turn and for Elites a maximum of "two". Assuming the rules allow them such a thing. Probably only applicable to squat elites due to their particular rules.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:50 pm
Posts: 1467
I agree with Primarch on the first question.

As to the second, I would allow the 'elite re-roll' to be used toward a Morale check IF, and only if, the stand with the Elite ability was a part of that specific detachment (remember that Morale checks are made per detachment, not per formation) and was still in play at the time that the Morale check is required. In other words, if the stand with Elite has been removed as a casualty, then the associated detachment could not use a re-roll based on the Elite rule.

_________________
Net Epic Coordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 96
ok. The reroll seems clear enough. One reroll per dice roll and the elite reroll can bypass the rule so to speak.

I think the elite rule should not be allowed on morale, but I will tell the group. We choose to not allow it last we played ;)

Thanks for the answers as always.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net